Y Not


Rock legend Ringo Starr is the first Beatle to release a new studio album in 2010 and his ten track CD, Y Not is a winner, start to finish. Of course, Ringo’s drumming on all the tracks on the humorously titled Y Not (he even produced the album) and like magic to the welcoming ears of Beatles fans, it all sounds pretty amazing. In the spirit of Ringo’s self-titled 1973 Ringo album, Y Not is kind of a superstar session of sorts. Rock guitar icon Joe Walsh is all over the place. Track two, “Peace Dream” is a real John Lennon inspired, misty-eyed track that is enhanced by the able assistance of George Harrison’s chum Gary Wright, in addition to great bass playing from Beatles A&R guru Paul McCartney, sax hero Edgar Winter and more. Co-written by Liverpool 8 co-producer Dave Stewart, “The Other Side Of Liverpool” features Ringo’s skillful drumming along with guitar work from Dave and Billy Squire. “Walk With You” was co-written by Ringo and Van Dyke Parks and features additional vocals from Paul McCartney. Other players taking part on the CD are famed producer / bass ace Don Was, guitarists Steve Dudas, Keith Allison, Gary Burr, Mark Hart, keyboardist Benmont Tench as well as long time Ringo band member Richard Marx, who not only adds his guitar work but also co-wrote track seven, “Mystery Of The Night.” Co-written by Johnny Warman, track six, “Everybody Wins” is one of Ringo’s greatest songs and is just the kind of Wilburys type toe-tapper that George Harrison would flip for. With all hands on deck, Ringo’s latest musical adventure comes together with a little help from his friends. www.ringostarr.com


Attention Artists and Record Companies: Have your CD reviewed by mwe3.com.
Send to
: MWE3.com CD Reviews Editor Robert Silverstein, P.O. Box 630249, Little Neck, N.Y. 11363-0249
CD Reviews Feature Reviews & Features Archive Photo Archive Contact MWE3 Home
Email: Info@mwe3.com 


Copyright 2000-2010
MWE3.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved